People need meaning to their lives. Having a life deemed meaningless is a risk factor for depression, and for suicide.  A life with meaning is important to your general welfare. It seems so for many. I hear people all day long who yearn for both.  Some find reconciliation in religion or organizations to give their lives (and Life) meaning. Others go inward. The level of meaning doesn’t seem to be too important.  I have patients with rather concrete goals, like  “My life has meaning as I want to help raise my grandchild”.  While is seems mawkish, this type of meaning is easier to achieve than an abstract/cosmic type.

I once attended ‘An Evening with Quentin Crisp”.  At intermission he collected questions written on index cards and read them out loud in the 2nd act. I wrote “What is the Meaning of Life?”.  When he got to my card, he read it out loud and said “Oh, this is an easy one! Life has no meaning.” and threw the card away.

Yes, Spo-fans, my life has meaning – plenty. I see Life with Meaning too. Some may call this delusional, but it helps.  Yet and still, I sometimes wonder if it is whistling in the dark. “Life’s Meaning is what you make of it”  sounds true, but it also sounds true this the same as Life has no Meaning.

As Mr. Eco says –

“I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth.”

Presently my life’s meaning is taking care of others: patients, Someone, and my family. Making the world a better place for me being here is the Meaning.

It seems enough.