You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 5, 2024.

The best way to drive out the devil, if he will not yield to texts of Scripture, is to jeer and flout him, for he cannot bear scorn” – Martin Luther.

Last week I wrote on Tragedy; therefore it is a good idea to write something about Comedy. As is Life, one should not have one without the other. Jungians love them some balance. Indeed it is my understanding after a performance of some dark and dismal tragedy, the ancient Greeks did something called a ‘satyr play’, full of parody and bawdy actions. Good for them! I saw ‘Oedipus Rex’ at The Stratford Festival which opened with the actors coming on stage, donning red rubber noses and putting on an obscene version of the show.*

Tragedy and Comedy have lots in common; they are not too different. In both people are have problems but in the latter we are laughing at them. Last Sunday we saw a Buster Keaton movie in which the poor sod had all sorts of awful things happen to him and it was hilarious. Comedy, in its broadest definition, has its mistakes, fights, and human foibles but it all works out OK in the end.

Tragedy is full of curses and unavoidable outcomes, often controlled by the gods. Not so in comedy. There is no Divine and no royal curse. The characters in comedy aren’t kings but are ordinary folk: lovers (thwarted) and clowns (various). They get themselves into awful pickles and fights; pants are dropped and pies go into pusses and we laugh at their foibles.

Laughing at ourselves seems to be an inherent need for our Psyches; it’s as vital as food and drink. Tragedy is somewhat monotone that someone screws up and suffers for it but Comedy comes in several delectable flavors the main three being parody, satire, and farce. Satire and laughter may be our best weapon in the fight against dictators and controlling groups.

I am quite fond of farce. One of my favorite teachers suggested whenever we take ourselves or life too seriously it is good to watch a farce and put it all back into perspective.** I have a playlist on The Tube of Yous of movie clips guaranteed to make me smile although I have seen them dozen of times.

I am glad last week’s round of plays (all tragedies) ended with Mr. Keaton’s nonsensical literal train wreck of a farce. It was set in The Civil war, curiously on the Confederate’s side. I am glad at the end when it all worked out Mr. Keaton was still accidently sticking his sword into the backsides of the oh-too-serious army leaders. Even as I write this I am cheering up.

What are some of your favorite comedies? And please, name me a farce I should see.

*I attended this combination with my mother. Can you imagine? Apsychiatrist taking his mum to see ‘Oedipus Rex’. Oh the embarrassment; oh the irony.

**Some of my favorite farces: ‘Duck Soup’; ‘A shot in the dark’; “What’s up doc?’ and “Monty Python and the Holy Grail”.

Blog Stats

  • 2,274,928 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

March 2024
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018