You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 16, 2013.

I have run out of clean underwear. What this sordid statement means is I tend to buy garments en masse – socks, shoes, khakis etc.  – and wear them out at the same time. They reach senescence simultaneously.

derek-rose11Derek Rose makes quality underwear; boxers are the official Spo-drawers. Alas, even they don’t last forever. I need to get a drawer full of new drawers.

I suppose I could use this opportunity to translate to something new and adventuresome, but when it comes to garments I am a creature of habit. I get the same shoes, the same trousers, etc.  I am consistent, not fashionable.

m7TkOZMp8W77A3YLnScsv1wI once came home from a business trip with Jockey briefs which weren’t in my suitcase when I had departed. Someone’s eyebrows were raised and questions were asked. But the mundane explanation was I needed more appropriate undergarments for walking and the gym.*  These cringe in a corner of my underwear drawer, away from the hostile vibes of the Derek Rose boxers.

 

 

IMAGEEquipoTribalTrunk1Last Christmas Someone gave me some special knickers made by Equipo.  He thought I would like them as they carry a sort of Pacific Northwest design. They are made of some sort of silky fabric; they make me wildly body conscious. Alas, in them I don’t look or feel anything like the hairless, gutless models in the advertisments. Rather, I feel fat, old and pilose. But they are quite motivating to slim down. They are in another corner, daring me.

So I go to the gym, where I take off the Derek Rose boxers and put on the Jockey briefs so that some day I can wear the Equipos.

Underwear is rather complicated – and they all need replacing as I have already mentioned.

Perhaps I can save money and scandalize the world by simply not wearing any undergarments.  This “style” seems to be more frequent than not among my fellow LA Fitness locker room companions. But as they are my age or over, it doesn’t look ‘’sexy’ but an early sign of dementia.

smile_if_you_are_not_wearing_any_underwear_tshirt-r3589abd16ac3476abc86976912220f99_804gy_512

 

* Boxers are not conducive for jumping around at the gym.  Things can be jostled and want out, as it were. There have been some near disasters, especially when lying on the mat doing stretches.

Blog Stats

  • 2,273,352 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

November 2013
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018