You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 8, 2013.

Video Snapshot

Urs Truly trying to stay awake (on Eastern Time) while listening to a lecture. 

Gads but I hate being alone in hotels. Someone chose to stay home, so I had to fend for myself to get to Pennsylvia. This is a good as time as any to comment if Philadephia is “The city of brotherly love” I have yet to experience any. I encountered many vociferous people getting from the airport to King of Prussia. The local drivers are particularly aggressive, even more than those found in Phoenix (if that is possible). But everyone at the hotel is friendly.  Even though I am on ‘western time’ I soon fell asleep and woke up at 730AM local time, with no jet lag.

Medical conferences are curious critters. Doctors are obliged to get so many credits per year in seminars and classes on the alleged grounds this makes them up to date and ‘better doctors’.  There is not a scrap of evidence to show these classes are correlated with being a better physician – whatever that means. The attendees don’t interact much with each other. Today’s group seems to be mostly Asian females, Indian males (the only ones in business attire), and a few oldsters who look like they personally knew Freud. **  I sit alone.

In theory my malpractice premium goes down some for my attending today’s lectures on ‘legal issues in medical in the age of technology’.  They day insurance companies LOWER their rates is the day pigs get wings.

But all is not loneliness and education. Larry and Nate (the dears!) arrive this afternoon, bringing spo-shirts, revelry, and a good bottle of Virginia whisky.  Then we meet up with Anne Marie. Jolly good fun for a Friday!

**There are no ‘cuties” on which to rest my eyes while a presenter is reading a well researched by uninspiring paper. I suppose I could chat on Scruff or send text messages or play Scrabble, but that would be rude.

Blog Stats

  • 2,273,225 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

November 2013
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018