You are currently browsing the daily archive for November 26, 2013.

Medical reports tell me if a patient takes more than three prescriptions or supplements things begin to bungle. Even the best and the brightest become bewildered with whether or not they took their medicinals. This often leads to skipping or (worse) double dosing. The best way towards better adherence is to have a wonderful/caring nurse manage your meds for you:

210x210_MaleNurse

If you are bereft of said nurse, studies show packing a pill box is pretty good (1).  I take a plethora of pills.  I have my prescriptions for blood pressure and few for cholesterol. I also take a multivitamin and vitamins D and E.  Then there are the ‘snake oil supplements’ consisting of fish oil capsules (four), calcium/magnesium (when I don’t have yogurt) along with a daily aspirin and co-q-10 to postpone the inevitable heart attack.  Even Urs Truly can’t keep these sundries straight.  So once a week (usually Tuesday night) I get out my weekly pill box planner and pack’em.

IMG_1890

“It’s pill packing night!” I announce to Someone and Harper whose enthusiasm words can not adequately convey. Then its off to the medicine cabinet and bathroom shelf to gather up the goodies.

Pills can be more slippery than catfish in vaseline; a few invariably drop into the wrong box, or (worse) slip down the waste pipe. (2)  It’s enough to turn Christian Scientist.

Taking pills is a drag. I am continually tempted to stop them (particularly the supplements, towards which I have dubious doubts) but since ‘all is going well’ my inner-Midwestern protestant tells me not to upset anything or risk it. Plus, I am a good patient; I would never stop anything without my doctor’s consent. (3)  

If I am going out, the daily oblong white box is too bulky to carry around in my pocket. (4)  So I have these ‘day pass’ versions:

 

IMG_1889

 

So now I have to stop blogging and go pack my pills. Otherwise I will forget and remember only when I am at work tomorrow around 10AM and have to call Someone would you please be a muffin and bring me my felodipine and the Whole Foods Multivitamin for Spos.

He charges exorbently for delivery, but I always try to give him a big tip.

 

(1) But not as fun.

(2) Patients frequently call me to lament while packing their pillboxes they lost all their valium or xanax or klonopin down the sink.  Not just some, but ‘all of it’. Tranquilizers gravitate to drains which act like black holes. Only controlled substances are effected so.   No one calls to report they lost all their lithium this way.  Amazing.

(3) In contrast my patient continually stop and start things without my input or advice.  Naughty.

(4)   “Are you happy to see me or are you merely hauling your vitamins?”

Blog Stats

  • 2,273,316 Visitors and droppers-by

Categories

November 2013
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Spo-Reflections 2006-2018