Video Snapshot

I am not in good shape at the moment. I’ve had a very nasty URI (upper respiratory infection) for what seems like forever but in fact is lasting a fortnight. It was a “souvenir from Philadelphia”.  Happily it is ‘from the neck up’ i.e. it hasn’t invaded my lungs. My tonsils are dissilient. Worse, there is a scratchy feeling in the back of my throat, a sensation of a lodged popcorn kernel, which triggers paroxysms of coughing (which doesn’t help). I am only now finally beginning to be getting my voice back.  No fun, this.

I am using up the half-empty plastic shampoo bottles I’ve accumulated from hotel stays. I don’t like waste, so I bring them home along with the barely used bars of soap. Unfortunately this virtuous Protestant move is not being rewarded by heaven as my scalp itches. I need get my usual ‘tar’ shampoo after all. It leaves my hair feeling like dead grass but at stops me from scratching.

Between itchy scalp and scratchy throat my head is a mess.

 

There is nothing so inconvenient than an old queen with a head cold. My malady is thwarting many activities some of them I sorely miss. I am feeling a ‘withdrawal’.  I want to get to the gym. In matters of other missed activities Someone says we just have to wait. And there is little to do but wait. As they say in “Waiting for Godot” there is nothing to be done.  I have “ODed”on Nyquil and have replaced it with hot toddies. This may not shorten the duration of the disease, but it makes the time less unpleasant.